Back to the EIA Page
Empires in Arms Errata


Official Errata for Empires in Arms

(by Avalon Hill... now owned by Hasbro)



  
  • Errata from The General 23/4:


GAME CARD:

Victory Conditions C.7: Change the word "American" to "colonial".

Operational Possibilities Chart: The attacker's first combat table when crossgriding an _Escalated Assault_ with a _Cordon_ river crossing should be "5-1" instead of "5-2".

UNIT COUNTERS:

The Russia I, II, and III corps should have a cavalry morale of "4".

RULES:

Change 4.2.2.2 to read: A major power already at war with another major power may not declare war on other major powers if unbesieged enemy infantry corps are already inside its home nation.

Change 4.6.4.2.2 to read: If there are any allies and/or royal marriages involved, then the alliances and/or royal marriages are broken and the requisite points lost for _each_.

Add to the end of [4.9] the following: If desired, write down combined movement declarations and reveal them simultaneously.

Change the first sentence of 6.2.5.1 to read: TRANSPORTATION MOVEMENT PROCEDURE: The corps and the fleet must both begin in the same friendly controlled (it may be besieged) _port_.

Change 7.3.1.2 to read: FORCE MARCHING: Corps may increase their movement allowance by one movement point by "force marching." Cossacks, freikorps, guerillas, cavalry corps and disembarking corps may not be force marched.

Add to the end of 7.3.5: If an area contains a friendly port that is besieged, counters may be considered to be disembarked directly into the port (if there is room) or into the port's area, as the controlling player desires.

Change 7.5.4.1.3.2 to read: Final morale levels are determined and forces revealed as per 7.5.2.6.

Change 7.5.4.2.1.2 to read: Final morale levels are determined and forces revealed as per 7.5.2.6.

Add the following rule:

10.3.1.2.1.3: Neutral forces that previously had access in territory that has changed control (i.e., due to reconquest or ceding) can be given voluntary access under any new conditions granted by the new controlling major power (unconditional access _must_ be given if peace condition C.5 applies between the involved major powers). If no access is given or available, the neutral forces must be handled as with force repatriation (see 4.4.6.2 and/or option 12.4).

Add the following rules:

10.3.4 FORCIBLE ACCESS: If a major power is denied voluntary access or denied desired access conditions, its land forces may still be moved into or through desired areas by using "forcible access," as follows:

10.3.4.1: Forcible access operates under the same restrictions as access through neutral minor countries (see 10.3.1.1).

10.3.4.2: A phasing major power loses one political point per Turn for _each_ major power's territories in which forcible access is used. _For example, during a Turn, French counters are moved through some Bavarian and Saxon areas using forcible access. France loses one political points if both these minor countries are controlled by Prussia, but loses two political points if Bavaria is Austrian-controlled and Saxony is Prussian-controlled_.

10.3.4.3: The major power controlling territory in which forcible access occurs may, if desired, _immediately_ declare war and lose the requisite political points for _each_ separate declaration on any or all of the major powers using forcible access in its territory, unless prevented by limitation in 4.2.2.1. This chance to declare war is repeated each time a counter using forcible access is moved. If war is declared, allies may be called as in 4.3.

Add to the end of 11.3.2.3: If Hanover is _not_ part of the Kingdom of Westphalia, Hanoverian army factors are not available for use by the Kingdom of Westphalia.

Add to the end of 11.5.2.3: If Hanover and/or Bavaria are _not_ part of the Confederation of the Rhine, their army factors are not available for use by the Confederation of the Rhine.

Change the first sentence of 11.6.5 to read: POLITICAL POINTS: The Ottoman Empire is worth two political points to _create_.

Add to the end of 11.9.2.1: France and Great Britain may _never_ make an informal peace and, unless one or both have ceased to be dominant powers, may never be allies.

Add the following rule:

12.3.9: NO CEDING: Allow the ceding of minor countries only as a peace term and at no other times.

Add the following rule:

14.1.4.1.5: Available Austrian insurrection and Turkish feudal corps not placed on the mapboard during initial setup are considered to be standing down.

Add to the POLITICAL POINTS CHART:

-1: Per major power per Turn using forcible access (10.3.4).


  • Errata from The General 25/4:


Victory Condition B.6: Add: _Although 4.2.2.4 can be ignored in this case, the other restrictions of 4.2.2 still apply.

RULES:

Add after the word "case" in 6.3.1.2.2: ... _although the other restrictions in 4.2.2 still apply)_ ...

Typo in 7.4.1.2.5: "+1" should be "-1".

Clarification to 7.4.4: A depot built on a ship must be that of the same major power.

Add to the end of 7.5.2.11.1.2: _Trivial combats do not count as a combat to prevent attempts to reinforce. If all of a side's forces in an as yet unresolved trivial combat leave to reinforce another combat, the trivial combat does not take place_.

Add to the end of 7.5.2.13.1: _Since no one was defeated, no political points are gained or lost from the combat_.

Add to the end of 8.2.1.2: _For ALL trade, Great Britain announces all trading he wishes to conduct, after which each major power involved may agree or disagree_.

Clarification to 8.5.4: Only _available_ (currently off the map) fleet and corps counters may be purchased as "new" counters. Counters currently on the mapboard may _not_ be purchased to be available for immediate return to play as "new" counters should they be eliminated.

Add to the end of 10.5.2.3: _Garrison factors (NOT corps, freikorps, or cossacks in garrison) of the controlling major power MUST be immediately removed from the minor country following the honors of war rules (see 7.5.4.1.2.3.1--in this case, it can be done by Spanish and Turkish garrisons)_.

Clarification to 11.1.1.1: East and/or West Galicia may be part of a Russian-controlled Poland.

Add before the last sentence in 11.9.2.2: _They may never make an informal peace and may never be allies_.

Clarification to 12.2.2: This is determined during an Economic Phase.

Add to the end of 12.3.3.2: ... _or if the commanding leader has a strategic rating of 5_.

Add the following rule:

12.3.10: OVERWHELMING NUMBERS: Field or limited field combats where one side has a 5:1 or better ratio in strength factors _must_ be resolved using trivial combat. EXCEPTION: An outnumbered _defender_ may attempt to withdraw before the trivial combat by rolling the commander's strategic rating or less.


  • Errata from The General 27/2:


Add to the end of 4.4.1: "If major powers simultaneously sue each other for peace (some players prefer to have this written and revealed simultaneously), they _must_ both accept an informal peace."

Add to the end of 4.4.2.2: "If desired, and several major powers are being sued for peace, have each player write down 'conditional' or 'unconditional' before revealing all the peace proposals simultaneously."

Change 6.3.1.2 to read: "A stack may only attack another stack if at war with the major power owning that stack, if at war with a major power owning corps being (or that could be) transported by fleets of that stack, or if at war with one or more of the fleets involved in combined movement. In the latter two cases, the attacker's stack need not be at war with the major power owning the transporting fleets, and, if not, the attacker has the option to either:"

Add to the end of 6.3.1.2.2: "Even if an enforced peace period is ignored, restrictions 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 still apply."

7.5.2.10.3.1 Clarification: The depots discussed here are those of the losing force.

7.5.2.11.2 Clarification: If a leader is used for a reinforcing force, one ore more counters may be left behind, if desired.

7.5.2.13.1 Clarification: Since no one was defeated, no Political Points are lost or gained.

Modify 7.5.3.4: The word "Depot" should read "Depot and city".

Add to the end of 8.2.1.2: "For _all_ trade, the British player announces where he wishes to trade, then each concerned major power agrees or disagrees."

Add to the end of 10.3.2.1: "If garrisons in the same city suddenly find themselves at war due to a declaration of war, _immediately_ determine city control by trivial combat between the hostile garrison forces."

12.2.2 Clarification: This applies only during an Economic Phase.

Add to the last sentence of 12.3.3.2: "... and/or if the commanding leader has a strategic rating of 5. The Austrian Light Infantry Corps _is_ considered to be a cavalry corps for this purpose."

Add to 14.3.2.3.1 before the last sentence: "this _does_ preclude movement into Austrian border areas where Insurrection corps could be placed if both Insurrection corps are not already on the map."

Add to 14.5.7, B: "... or Russia surrenders unconditionally to France sometime during the game."

GAME CARD:

Victory Condition B.4: Round fractions down for determining half of the corps army factors.

Victory Condition B.6: If war is declared within the normal peace-time 18 month period, other restrictions (see 4.2.2) still apply.

National Morale Values Chart: Under "Method Two", remove the parentheses and the words "except feudal".


  • Some official answers to various questions from The General 24/4:


Victory Conditions: On the Game Card, under B.4, does the corps on loan revert upon losing half (rounded down) of its army factors?

A: Yes--round fractions down for determining half of the corps' army factors.

National Morale: On the National Values Chart, under Method Two, how does on e deal with Turkish Feudal forces?

A: The same as with all others with morale of "2"--remove the parentheses and the words "except feudal".

4.4.1 What happens if major powers try to surrender to each other simultaneously?

A: If major powers simultaneously sue each for peace (some players like to have this written and revealed simultaneously), they _must_ both accept an Informal Peace. Add this to your rulebook.

4.4.2.2 What happens if a major power wishes to sue several powers for peace simultaneously?

A: If desired, and several powers are being sued for peace, have each write down "conditional" or "unconditional" before revealing all the peace proposals simultaneously.

7.5.2.11.2 If a leader-controlled force wishes to reinforce, must all the units go with the leader?

A: No--if a leader is used for a reinforcing force, one or more counters may be left behind, if desired.

7.5.2.13.1 If both sides elect to withdraw after a day of combat, how are Political Points adjusted?

A: Since no one was defeated, no Political Points are lost or gained.

7.5.3.4 May city garrisons retreat?

A: No--the word "Depot" should read "Depot and city".

8.2.1.2 In what order does the British player announce his trading partners?

A: For _all_ trade, the British player announces where he wishes to trade, then each concerned major power agrees or disagrees.

10.3.2.1 What happens if the major power with garrisons in a city go to war with each other?

A: If garrisons in in the same city suddenly find themselves at war due to a declaration of war, _immediately_ determine city control by trivial combat between the hostile garrison forces.

14.3.2.3.1 May an inactive UMP move into an Austrian border area?

A: This rule _does_ preclude movement into Austrian border areas where insurrection corps could be placed if both insurrection corps are not already on the map.

14.5.7, B. What happens if Russia surrenders to France without these conditions being fulfilled?

A: Russia loses and France wins--add to 14.5.7, B.: "... or Russia surrenders unconditionally to France sometime during this game."

 

Click here to go back to the EIA Page